



## Sunday 17<sup>th</sup> September 2023

WAIHI CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP FINALS: All the Club's divisions held their championship finals on Sunday before a good crowd of fellow members. Unfortunately, the strong winds that have dogged the club programme for most of the past week remained in place, making it a day to be well wrapped up.

The 2023 Men's Champion was a repeat of last year, with Murray Fraser this year shutting out Chad Meyer to win his final. The Lady's Champion was again Carol Leary who defeated Jackie Robson. This was Carol's eight club title, and her 7<sup>th</sup> in succession.

The Intermediate Men section was won by Chris Pilmer over Richard Taitoko, and the Junior A title was won by Michael Matutinovich in defeating Frank Van Hattum. John Drent overcame Eddie Bruce to take out the Junior B Men's Championship.

The Lady's Bronze 1 Championship was won by Sally Sherson who defeated Wendy Matutinovich, while the Bronze 2 title was taken out by Kathy Ashton who defeated Sally Grindlay. Heather White won the Brone 3 title in defeating Tina Berg.

The Nine Hole Men's Championship saw Rex Smith overcome John Twemlow to be this year's champion. The Lady's Division 1 Nine Hole winner was Lorraine Meyer who just bettered Glen Bennett, while the Division 2 Champion for 2023 is Heather White, who defeated Vicky Knight in their final.

NINE HOLE OPEN TOURNAMENT: The nine-hole section open tournament was held on Friday (15<sup>th</sup>), with 41 competitors enjoying a well-prepared course. They did however have to compete against the strong gusty winds that are so predominant this spring. A great prize table and raffle prizes were boosted with the generosity of local Waihi and Waihi Beach retailers.

The winners of the Overall nett were Ben Bax (Otumoetai) with 33, and Division 1 Ladies with 34 was Lynda Thomson (Waihi), and division 2 Ladies, was Linda Richards (Otumoetai) with 35.

The Men's Stableford was won by Julius Beck (Otumoetai) with 20 points, Followed by Les Emms (Te Aroha) 19, and Rex Smith (Waihi) 18. The Ladies division 1 stableford was won by Mandy Piper (Walton) with 19 points, with Susan Donaldson (Paeroa) second with 18. Third was Vicky Knight (Waihi) with 17 points. The Ladies division 2 winner was Mandy Souchon (Paeroa) with 19 points, ahead of Fiona Pennell (Paeroa) on 18, followed by Tracy Millar (Paeroa) with 17.



